Distinguished Service Award

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who have rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The first Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Order of the Arrow founders E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, and eight other Arrowmen. The award is presented during the National Order of the Arrow Conference to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis.

Na Tsi Hi Lodge is proud of our brothers who have been recognized with this distinguished award.


Carl M. Marchetti, Union City, NJ


John T. Cox, Red Bank, NJ


J. Fred Billett, North Brunswick, NJ

James Y. “Jay” Dunbar, Jr., New Shrewsbury, NJ

Thomas S. Pallone, Little Silver, NJ


Carl Marchetti moved to Monmouth County and served as the Na Tsi Hi Lodge Adviser from 1963 to 1972.

John Cox (deceased 1980)

J. Fred Billett (deceased 2000) served as the Monmouth Council Executive (1951 – 1968) during the years when Forestburg and Quail Hill Reservations were acquired. He then served in a number of regional and national capacities for the National Boy Scout office, located in North Brunswick from 1954 to 1979.

New Shrewsbury was renamed Tinton Falls in 1975.